The Longshore Women's Golf Association will crown a 2012 club champion Saturday afternoon.

The women's 52nd annual Club Championship Tournament got under way Wednesday with match play in three flights and a field of 20 golfers. The second round is scheduled today, and the final round tees off Saturday morning.

Defending club champ Leela Narang-Benaderet, who won the title in a one-hole playoff last summer, will not be a repeat winner. Narang-Benadret is expecting her second child in about two weeks, tournament spokeswoman Suzanne Goldstein said. She attempted to play Wednesday but dropped out after seven holes.

Jo Rasmussen and Jane Dally are the remaining favorites.

The women's association changes the format of its club championship each year, Goldstein said. This year it switched to match play from a 36-hole, medal-play format last year.

Rasmussen recently won the club championship at the H. Smith Richardson Golf Course in Fairfield, where she also is a member, Goldstein said.

Rasmussen won Longshore women's titles in 2008 and 2010. Dally came within a stroke of winning the 2011 Longshore crown before losing to Narang Benaderet in the playoff.

Both finished the regulation 36 holes at 165. Narang-Benaderet parred the 37th hole while Dally's putt for a par barely missed.

In the women's association's 52nd annual member-guest tournament July 10, Dally and her guest were second with a 1-under-par 72 in the best ball format. Narang-Benadret, more than seven months pregnant then, shot a 78 on her own ball, and she and her guests won the event with a 6-under-par 67.