Parade for Little Leaguers set Monday at 5 p.m.

The championship Westport Little League team will be saluted with a parade through downtown at 5 p.m. Monday.
The championship Westport Little League team will be saluted with a parade through downtown at 5 p.m. Monday.Contributed Photo

After more than three weeks on the road, Westport's national finalist Little League World Series team will be welcomed home Monday afternoon with a parade and ceremony downtown.

The parade steps off at 5 p.m. from the corner of Main Street and Avery Place. It will proceed south on Main Street, across Post Road to Jesup Green, where the first selectman will officially welcome the team back from the Little League World Series in Pennsylvania, where Westport advanced to the U.S. championship game.

The festivities are planned rain or shine.

Also being honored during Monday's parade and ceremony will be Westport's state champion 11-and-under Little League girls' softball team.

"This will be a wonderful way to celebrate the achievements of these young athletes and demonstrate our support for them and for those who helped them bring home championships to Westport," First Selectman Gordon Joseloff said. "We are so proud of them. Each and every Westporter is bursting with pride."

The baseball team left Westport Aug. 1, bound for Bristol and the New England championship tournament. After nine days in Bristol, the Connecticut state champs captured the regional championship banner and departed directly for Williamport, Pa. and a two-week run at the Little League World Series.

During that fortnight, Westport went father in Williamsport than any Connecticut team had in nearly 25 years. Along the way, the 11 middle school kids captured the hearts and imaginations of an entire town and took it along for a thrilling ride on youth sports' biggest stage.

The World Series team, made up of 12 and 13 year olds, lost to Chula Vista, Calif. in the U.S. championship game Saturday. In its final appearance, Westport lost a consolation game by one run to the series' foreign-bracket runner up, Tijuana, Mexico.