WESTPORT — In addition to the closely watched state senate race between Toni Boucher and Will Haskell, Westport voters will be asked to decide on lower profile candidates on Nov. 6, too.

Of this election’s smaller races, two are uncontested: probate judge and registrar of voters. The Democratic Town Committee chose not to put forth a candidate to challenge Lisa Wexler, a Westport probate judge who was first elected to the position in 2013.

Republican Registrar of Voters Kevin White is retiring and Richard Ruggiero is on the ballot to take his place while Marla Cowden is running again on the Democratic side. Don’t be confused by the ballot that directs voters to vote for one registrar. Both candidates listed will end up taking office, one as the Democratic Registrar and the other as the Republican Registrar, so long as each of the two candidates receives one vote.

For governor and lieutenant governor, voters can choose between the Democratic ticket of Ned Lamont and Susan Bysiewicz or Republican contenders Bob Stefanowski and Joe Markley, in addition to third party options.

U.S. Sen. Chris Murphy is hoping to coast into another term along with U.S. Rep. Jim Himes, though both face Republican challengers—Matthew Corey and Harry Arora, respectively.

Shawn Wooden, D, and Thad Gray, R, will face off for state Treasurer while William Tong, D, and Sue Hatfield, R, contend for Attorney General. The position of comptroller pits Kevin Lembo, D, against Kurt Miller, R. Secretary of the State Denise Merrill, D, hopes to defeat Susan Chapman for another four year term in office.

From the numerous political signs around town, residents may know about Republican Greg Kraut’s campaign against four-term Democratic Representative Jonathan Steinberg for the 136th house seat. And of course we can’t forget the race for the 26th senate district, which pits Toni Boucher, a 22 year veteran of Hartford politics, against 22-year-old Will Haskell.

There’s also two ballot questions for voters to decide yes or no. The first asks whether the special transportation fund should be used solely for transportation purposes. The other proposes new steps that must be completed before selling state-owned property.

Where to vote

Voters in each of Westport’s nine districts will cast their ballot in one of five locations.

Voters in District 1 and 2 will vote at Saugatuck Elementary School. District 4 and 5 will vote at Greens Farms School. Constituents in District 6 and 7 will vote at Long Lots School.

Those in District 3 and 8 who previously voted at Coleytown Middle School will now vote at Coleytown Elementary School because of the middle school mold issue. District 9 voters normally vote at the Westport Library, but will vote at the Westport Town Hall auditorium this year due to library construction.

Polls open at 6 a.m. and close at 8 p.m.

Not registered?

In-person registration can be done on election day in Town Hall. You’ll need to bring proof of identity and residency in order to participate in election day registration.


@hearstmediact.com; 203-842-2638; @SophieCVaughan1