A Westport resident instrumental in creating the Vietnam Women's Memorial in Washington, D.C., is among the 11 military veterans inducted this week into the Connecticut Veterans Hall of Fame by Gov. M. Jodi Rell.

Dr. Doris Troth Lippman and the 10 other veterans were formally inducted during a ceremony Tuesday in the atrium of the Legislative Office Building in Hartford. At the ceremony, each honoree or family representative was presented with with an official, numbered commemorative medallion recognizing their selection for the Hall of Fame.

"These men and women are truly community heroes," Rell said during the ceremony. "They represent the finest values we hope to emulate ourselves -- and wish to encourage in our children. They are selfless; they are dedicated; they are courageous, kind and caring. They have served our nation in our armed forces, and for that alone they deserve our eternal gratitude. But this Hall of Fame is designed to recognize those whose service has continued well beyond their years in uniform.

"These individuals not only answered the call of their nation, they have answered the call of their communities," Rell added. "It is what they have done beyond their military service that truly sets them apart as individuals worthy of this special honor. The example they have set, the courage they have shown and the public service they have given is most worthy of the respect and admiration of all Connecticut citizens."

Rell established the Connecticut Veterans Hall of Fame in 2005 through Executive Order No. 5 as a way to honor those state residents who have served the nation with distinction in the armed forces and then returned to Connecticut where they continued their contributions in civilian life.

Fifty-one Connecticut veterans have previously been inducted into the Veterans Hall of Fame. Among them are former President George H.W. Bush, former Gov. William A. O'Neill, former state Rep. Richard Belden, six Medal of Honor recipients and the first woman inductee, Navy veteran Barbara Miller.

Westporter Lippman served in the U.S. Army Nurse Corps in Japan from 1967-68. She is a professor of nursing and the director of the VA Nursing Academy at Fairfield University, a cooperative training program between the University and the federal Veterans Administration help prepare students for careers in nursing.

She play a pivotal role in the development of the Vietnam Women's Memorial in Washington, D.C., serving as vice chairwoman and secretary. She now is writing a book on the history of the memorial.

Widely published in the area of veterans' health care, she is past president of the Connecticut Nurses Association, a member of the VA's New England regional Mental Health Veteran and Family Advisory Council and a member of the board of directors of Homes for the Brave in Bridgeport. Lippman has also been active in the area of domestic violence prevention including serving on the Bridgeport mayor's domestic violence task force.

Others in this year's class of inductees are: former U.S. Rep. Rob Simmons, who served 19 months in Vietnam with the U.S. Army and championed veterans' causes as a member of the Veterans Affairs and Homeland Security Committees; William J. McGurk, president and chief executive officer of Rockville Bank and a 28-year Navy veteran; Edmund Burke, an advocate in the area of mental health services for veterans, and Thomas Burke, owner of TJ's restaurant in Baltic and supporter of veterans' causes in Norwich.

Three World War II veterans and volunteers in their respective communities for decades -- Robert C. Hunt Jr. of Avon, Edward V. Sabotka of Windsor Locks and Stanley F. Zebzda of Wethersfield -- are also inductees this year.

Also named to the Hall of Fame are: John J. Carcioppolo of Gales Ferry, who retired as a command master chief after serving 22 years as a U.S. Navy submariner; Robert C. Moeller of South Windsor, who served for 41 years in the U.S. Army and Army National Guard, and Abner Oakes III of Hamden, who served 31 years as an officer in the U.S. Navy and Naval Reserves, retiring with the rank of commander.

Veterans who served in all military conflicts are eligible to be considered, including World War I, World War II, Korea, Vietnam, the Persian Gulf and service in Afghanistan and Iraq. Nomination packets for the 2011 Hall of Fame Class must be received by June 30, 2011. Nomination packets and additional information can be accessed at www.ct.gov/ctva.