The Connecticut Alliance for Music has announced six winners of the 2013 Heida Hermanns International Piano Competition, held recently in Westport Town Hall.

The competition was named after Heida Hermanns, a Westport resident for 40 years and a concert pianist who founded the competition in 1973.

For the first time in the 40-year history of the competition, the judges selected two of the six finalists for first place awards -- Josh Wright of Ann Arbor, Mich., and Timur Mustakimov of Russia, who each received $5,000. Third place was Yi-Yang Chen of Taiwan who was awarded $1,500, and honorable mention awards of $500 each were given to Moye Chen of Beijing, Andrew Yang of Evanston, Ill., and Samuel Post of Washington, D.C.

The awards were presented Nov. 24 by Yue Chu, the honorary event chairman and the first-prize winner of the 2011 competition, and Doris Goltzer, artistic director of the Connecticut Alliance for Music.The bi-annual event brings together young musicians, ages 19 to 30, from around the world to compete for cash prizes.

Visit or for more information.