Hadley Rose was re-elected Tuesday to his fifth term as moderator of the Westport Representative Town Meeting, while Eileen Flug secured a second term as deputy moderator.

Both Rose and Flug received unanimous support for new one-year terms in the non-partisan legislative body's leadership posts; no other members were nominated. Rose was first elected to the 36-member RTM in 2003; Flug won her first term in 2005.

In his acceptance speech, Rose urged his RTM colleagues to pursue a fiscally disciplined approach during the new session.

"Once again, we are going to have to try to balance the competing needs of our schools, of our seniors ... and those who rely on our first responders, our town employees and town services in general," he said. "We need to do this in an environment where many members of our community -- our neighbors -- are facing harsh economic realities."

Rose, a District 3 representative, heads Rose Container, a company that specializes in industrial packaging and consulting on hazardous material shipments. Flug, who represents District 9, serves as a board member for the nonprofit group, the Green Village Initiative.

The RTM, in session Tuesday for the first time since last month's municipal election, has 11 freshman members.

The body will also have several new committee chairmen. Jeff Wieser, District 4, succeeds Michael Rea as the head of the RTM's Finance Committee, after Rea was elected to the Board of Finance last month. Wendy Batteau, District 8, takes over from Wieser as the chairwoman of the Health and Human Services Committee.

Jay Keenan, District 2, assumes the chairmanship of the Public Works Committee, following Judy Starr's retirement.

Dick Lowenstein, District 5, will be the chairman of the Employee Compensation Committee after the last chairman of that panel, Michael Guthman, was not re-elected. Sean Timmins, District 2, succeeds Lowenstein as the chairman of the Public Protection Committee.

Three other committees also have new chairmen. John McCarthy, District 9, will head the Transit Committee; Jonathan Cunitz, District 4, will lead the Long Range Planning Committee, and Arthur Ashman, District 7, will be the chairman of the Library, Museum and Arts Committee.

In 2011, the RTM has debated and voted on several major town issues. During recent months, it has approved new contracts for the town's firefighter and municipal employee unions. The RTM endorsed those accords after months of arbitration, which followed the legislative body's rejection last year of previously-proposed contracts for those two unions.

In May, the RTM approved a current-year town budget of approximately $179 million.

The RTM also voted this year on a pair of Planning and Zoning Commission decisions that were appealed by residents. In January, it overturned by a landslide margin an amendment that would have imposed new building coverage regulations for residential properties. Five months later, it reviewed a petition that called for the overturn of an amendment that provided the zoning framework for the development of a senior residential complex at the town-owned Baron's South property. The RTM voted by a resounding margin to uphold that amendment.

The body also approved creation of a volunteer board to help manage the town's deer population, culminating months of RTM debate and study of that issue.