On Saturday, Aug. 13, the Westport Parks and Recreation Department sponsored the seventh race of the 2011 Road Runners season with a 6.8-mile run starting at Compo Beach.

Jeffrey Zarilli, of Darien, won his first-ever Road Runners race as he led 149 runners over the scenic and certified course with the time of 39:22. Zarilli's time, however, was well off the course record of 35:21 set by Georg Diettrich, of Oldenburg, Germany, in 1997.

Second and third places in Saturday's race, which ended in a tie for second place, were awarded to fellow Westport residents Luke McCambley and David Mortner with respective identical times of 39:51. The first woman to finish was Mary Zengo, of Wilton, in 18th place with the time of 46:05. Second and third places in the women's division were awarded to Sharon Vos, of Old Greenwich, in 22nd place, and Emmy Stocker, of Cos Cob, in 29th place with respective times of 47:27 and 50:29. Other Westport and Weston residents who finished in the top 10 were Nick Avello, fifth in 41:08, David Allen, ninth in 42:48, and Paul Greenberg, 10th in 42:56.

The next race, 8.4 miles, is scheduled for Saturday, Aug, 20, at 8 a.m. starting at the entrance to Burying Hill Beach. The route goes east on Beachside Avenue, turns left onto Sasco Creek Road, left onto Greens Farms Road, right onto Morningside Drive and left onto Hillandale Road. Runners will then turn left onto Hillspoint Road, left onto Greens Farms Road, left onto Prospect Road, right onto Hillspoint Road, right onto Hillandale Road and right onto West Parrish Road.

They will then turn right onto Center Street, left onto Greens Farms Road, proceed straight on Beachside Avenue, and finish at the guard shack on the Burying Hill Beach entrance road.

The record for the 8.4-mile run of 42:51 was set by Bob Hensley, of Milford, in 1980. The women's record of 49:12 was set by Cindy Mironovich in 1984.

More Information

POINT WINNERS This week's point winners in the Grand Prix scoring system: Men's Junior Division: Spencer Brown, 3 points; and Ryan Lewis, 2 points. Men's Open Division: Luke McCambley, 2.5 points; David Mortner, 2.5 points; and Nick Avello, 1 point Men's Sub-Masters Division: Jeffrey Zarilli, 3 points; Jeff Watson, 2 points; and Vincent Dejana, 1 point. Men's Masters Division: Stephen Marsalese, 3 points; David Allen, 2 points; and Nadeem Ahmad, 1 point. Men's Grand Masters Division: Paul Greenberg, 3 points; Joe Von Ehr, 2 points; and Matthew Spiegel, 1 point. Men's Veterans Division: Roy Van Eick, 3 points; Rob Fryer, 2 points; and Art Nager, 1 point. Men's Grand Veterans Division: Michael Goldman, 3 points; Bob Goldblatt, 2 points; and Jack Jacobs, 1 point. Women's Junior Division: Sara Griffin, 3 points: Nina Levison, 2 points; and Emily Finkelstein, 1 point. Women's Open Division: Katrina Mata, 3 points: Crystal Taylor, 2 points: and Alison Boyd, 1 point. Women's Sub-Masters Division: Laura Bevill, 3 points; Cara Chaplik, 2 points; and Heather Stewart, 1 point. Women's Masters Division: Mary Zengo, 3 points; Dora Paz, 2 points, and Dorian Kail, 1 point. Women's Grand Masters Division: Sharon Vos, 3 points; Emmy Stocker, 2 points; and Terry Bernard, 1 point. Women's Veterans Division: Carol Kane, 3 points. Women's Grand Veterans Division: None. Grand Prix Division point leaders after seven races are as follows: Junior Men: Ian Weiler, 4 points. Open Men: David Mortner, 11.5 points. Sub-Masters Men: Vincent Dejana, 14 points. Masters Men: David Allen and Stephen Marsalese, 10 points. Grand Masters Men: Paul Greenberg, 18 points. Veteran Men: Sal Mulia, 10 points. Grand Veteran Men: Michael Goldman, 15 points. Overall Men: Luke McCambley, 36.5 points. Junior Women: Sara Griffin, 9 points. Open Women: Jenny Ames, 12 points. Sub-Masters Women: Laura Bevill, 10 points. Masters Women: Mary Zengo, 12 points. Grand Masters Women: Terry Bernard, 12 points. Veteran Women: Carol Kane, 15 points. Grand Veteran Women: Norma Minkowitz; and Sandra Lefkowitz, 12 points. Overall Women: Mary Zengo, 39 points.

The race is open to the public. Registration begins at 7:30 a.m. at the stone wall at Burying Hill Beach.

Complete results of Saturday's 6.8-mile race may be found at the Westport Road Runners Summer Series website at westportroadrunners.org.

Applications and information are available at westportroadrunners.org. and at the recreation offices at Longshore Club Park before the start of each race.