Phil Corbo defeated Steve Watson 5 and 4 in match play to win the 36-hole Championship Flight of the 52nd Longshore Club Men's Club Championship Finals on Saturday. The match was postponed from the previous Sunday because of rain.

"It's fulfilling," Corbo said of the victory. "I just hit it solid pretty much all day."

Corbo reached the finals by defeating Sean Moriarty in the first round 6 and 5. In the quarterfinals, Corbo defeated Dave Dwyer 6 and 5 while firing three birdies and an eagle in the first 10 holes. He went on to win his semifinal match due to the withdrawal of Chris Meinke.

The finale was very close through the first 18 holes with Corbo leading 2 up. He proceeded to get two birdies over the next 14 holes which sealed the victory. This was his second club championship in the last three years. Corbo accomplished this most recent victory with a combination of 300-plus yard drives and an outstanding short game with excellent timely putting.

Corbo had a birdie go 5 up with nine holes to play, leaving Watson in a difficult spot. "It's tough to come back from that much of a deficit, especially against competition like that," Watson said.

"He played well," Corbo said of Watson.

Watson reached the finals by defeating Sean Doyle in the opening round, in an extremely close match, 1 up on the 18th hole. He followed this by winning in the quarterfinal match against Michael Fox, 1 up on the 19th hole. His semifinal match was against the long-hitting defending champion Ryan Burke. This very close contest was finally won by Watson on the 21st hole.

"I didn't play great. I kind of got fortunate on getting a couple of guys -- on my way to the finals -- not having their best day," Watson said of his run to the championship match.

The First Flight Championship was won by Chris Pappas 1 up on the 19th hole over Gavin McMahon. McMahon defeated Jim Tracy, Steven April and Joe Bottone en route to the finals. Pappas had victories over Fred Hunter, Greg Wrapp, and Paul Tolentino to reach the finals.

The Second Flight Championship was won by Mark Oberlander 2 up in a very close match with Jim Harvey. Harvey reached the finals by defeating Scott Bennewitz, Chris Pulichino and Larry Lieberman. Oberlander defeated Maury Hill, Rich Kesselman, and John Leo to reach the finals.