Applications for a vacant seat in the Representative Town Meeting's District 7 are being accepted.

The vacancy is the result of the recent resignation of longtime RTM member Steve Rubin. The appointment is for the remainder of Rubin's term, which runs to Nov. 17.

The opening must be filled by a registered Westport voter who lives in District 7, according to the town charter. Political affiliation, however, is not a factor since the RTM is a non-partisan body.

People interested in appointment to the seat, which will be made by a vote of the three remaining District 7 members, should send a resume by Oct. 8 to the Town Clerk's Office, attention Patricia Strauss, 110 Myrtle Ave., Westport, CT 06880 or via e-mail to

Questions should be directed to RTM Moderator Eileen Lavigne Flug or District 7 members Allen Bomes, Arthur Ashman and John Klinge.

Contact information and a district boundary map can be found on the town's website,