Dobie picks up a slew of soccer accolades on all-district team

It’s not often when Pasadena ISD athletes outnumber Humble ISD ones on a First Team All-District team but that was exactly the case with this season’s 22-6A All-District Boys Soccer Squad.

The list of accolades for Pasadena ISD even includes Dobie senior midfielder Imanol Pena earning MVP honors to the nine-school district and teammate Eris Acosta, a sophomore, landing Goalkeeper of the Year.

But the Offensive and Defensive MVP honors went to Kingwood High School’s Will Tucker and Humble’s Alfredo Ramirez, respectively.

The Newcomer of the Year recipient went to Pasadena High School’s Alexandro Cabello, who is just a freshman and Memorial’s Gilberto Garcia was selected as the Senior of the Year. Atascocita’s R.J. Wilson was voted Utility Player of the Year and Humble’s Saul Keene was selected as the Coach of the Year.

Not counting the specialty awards, fifteen Pasadena ISD players captured First Team honors and 33 percent of that total came from Dobie’s camp.

Eli Donaho, Adrian Garcia, Anthony Nery and Jonathan Mendez, all seniors, formed much of the backbone to Dobie’s success this winter and spring. Throw in sophomore Isaac Cortez, a forward, and the Longhorns provided quite an assignment for opponents.

Memorial was represented by four players. All juniors, they are Jose Alonso, Jose Lira, Luis Lemus and Fidel Dominguez. Lemus and Dominguez are forwards, while Alonso is a defender and Lira plays midfield.

Sam Rayburn was represented on First Team by sophomore midfielder Bryan Aguilar and senior forward Jovany Castillo.

South Houston earned two first teamers in defender Brian Elias and midfielder Andres Hurtado.

From Pasadena’s roster, Jose Castillo and Emmanuel Chavez were the first teamers.

The Humble High School group of Marcus Deleon, Danny Abad, Leonel Cruz and Alex Ramirez were voted to First Team. The Kingwood trio of goalkeeper William Strader and midfielders Will Sayles and Pedro Castro were recognized.

Completing the First Team selections were Summer Creek’s Raul Lejarza and Isaak Quezada and Atascocita’s Kris Fernandez and Adrian Martinez.

The 26-member Second Team All-District featured five more Dobie athletes. Oscar Beltran, Oscar Medrano, Alan Lopez, Jean Arreguin and Jonathan Torres were named by the respective coaches. All will form the meat to Dobie’s 2021 hopes since all but Beltran will be returning.

Memorial tacked on four more to its all-district picks. Ricardo Vazquez, Fernando Salas, Pedro Yanes and Abraham Rodriguez were all honored.

Pasadena was represented by Omar Rios and Genaro Limon, while South Houston placed Angel Ramirez and Erick Macias on the list and Sam Rayburn put the duo of Arlen Garcia and Octavio Martinez on the team.

Humble was represented by the quartet of Rafael Segovia, Angel Beltran, Jose Martinez and Ricardo Nunez. Summer Creek placed Ricardo Lopez and Sosimo Rodriguez on the team along with Kingwood’s Ethan Farias, Alexander Christensen and Matthew Villareal plus Atascocita’s Noah Foulkes and Nick Zuklic.

Pasadena ISD’s honorable mention list starts with the Dobie trio of Julio Martinez, Max Parra and Daniel Blanco. Memorial placed Alberth Diaz, Jonathan Sanchez and Erik Clorio, while South Houston had Luis Hurtado, Axcell Lopez and Moises Contreras and Sam Rayburn put Erik Hernandez, Alejandro Santana and Emiliano Salazar on honorable mention.