Memorial, Stratford volleyball earn first-team spots in 17-6A

The Memorial volleyball team took home an award and four more first-team all-district spots after a runner-up finish in 17-6A.

Junior Logan LeRoux was voted Setter of the Year after leading the league with 975 assists, an average of 8.0 per set. She also totaled 299 digs (2.5 per set), 102 kills and 37 aces to help lead Memorial to a 33-12 record in its first season with head coach Kaddie Platt.

Spring Branch ISD had 14 players represented on the second team or better, with junior Marjani Stanfill and senior Taylor Yun making the first team for Stratford.

Stanfill led the Spartans with 314 kills (2.5 per set) and 73 blocks while hitting .348 for the season. Yun had a team-high 47 aces and 476 digs, averaging 3.8, to help lead Stratford to a 23-22 record and a 9-7 mark in 17-6A.

Memorial finished 14-2 in district, sweeping seven consecutive matches down the stretch including a bi-district playoff victory against Westside. The Mustangs had four first-team selections in senior Brooke Duncan and juniors Lauren Elie, Taylor Odum and Lyla Traylor.

Duncan had 72 blocks and 192 kills (1.6). Elie led Memorial with 451 digs (3.9), adding 40 aces and 214 kills (1.8).

Odum had a team-high 82 blocks to go with 156 kills (1.4). Traylor was the offensive spark, leading with 430 kills (3.8) and 45 aces in addition to 401 digs (3.5).

Memorial gained two all-district second-team selections in Abby Hwang and Kingsley Wallace. The Mustangs will have a strong returning cast in 2020, as Duncan and Hwang were the only seniors among the top dozen in sets played.

Stratford brings back four of its five all-district picks, including second-team juniors Rylie LaRue, Julia Stein and Natalie Winn.

Northbrook was led by junior Torrance Williams, a second-team all-district selection. The Raiders won the season series against rival Spring Woods, taking their first district meeting in four and sweeping the second.

Spring Woods was represented on the second team by senior right side Gabriela Garcia.


Coach: Donna Benotti, Cy-Fair

MVP: Beka Portalatin, Cy-Fair

Setter: Logan LeRoux, Memorial

Hitter: Lauryn Bourne’, Cy-Fair

Defensive: Morgan Nix, Cy Falls

Blocker: Laila Collins, Cy Falls

Newcomer: Yasmin Mack, Cy Falls

First team

Annie Heliste, Cy-Fair

Maddie Hrncir, Cy-Fair

Kara Spice, Cy-Fair

Brooke Duncan, Memorial

Lauren Elie, Memorial

Taylor Odum, Memorial

Lyla Traylor, Memorial

Caitlyn Carmody, Cy Falls

Kaitlyn Hooper, Cy Falls

Alex Evans-Brooks, Cy Creek

Lindsey Kriendler, Cy Creek

Paige Underbrink, Cy Creek

Marjani Stanfill, Stratford

Taylor Yun, Stratford

Jarinae White, Cy Ridge

Sophia Spjut, Jersey Village

Second team

Alisa Cofer, Cy-Fair

Alexis Robinson, Cy-Fair

Abby Hwang, Memorial

Kingsley Wallace, Memorial

Morgan Adedunye, Cy Falls

Kaira Thomas, Cy Creek

Rylie LaRue, Stratford

Julia Stein, Stratford

Natalie Winn, Stratford

Sierra Calles, Cy Ridge

Catherine Pham, Cy Ridge

Jada Clarke, Jersey Village

Keely Everson, Jersey Village

Naomi Steen, Jersey Village

Torrance Williams, Northbrook

Gabriela Garcia, Spring Woods

Honorable mention

Cy-Fair: Julia Chew, Sophie Scott

Memorial: Caroline Howell, Megan Xie

Cy Falls: Emma Flores, Ayakla Martin

Cy Creek: Kat Betancourt, Hallie Shepherd

Stratford: Alexis Andrews, Eleni Fikaris

Cy Ridge: Hope Cameron, Christina Pham

Jersey Village: DeeJahne Buggs, Iliana Gabino

Northbrook: Esthela Posadas, Jacqueline Ruiz

Spring Woods: Summer Strohbehn, Valeria Vazquez