Festivities kicked off Thursday morning in Williamsport, Pa. with the Little League World Series opening ceremony.

All 16 teams, including New England regional champion Westport, were introduced before a packed crowd at Volunteer Stadium.

Each of the eight United States teams took the field with its state's flag, along with the eight international teams, each carrying its nation's flag.

The U.S. teams in the 67th LLWS include, along with Westport, Newark, Del. (Mid-Atlantic), Grosse Pointe, Mich. (Great Lakes), Urbandale, Iowa (Midwest), Nashville, Tenn. (Southeast), Corpus Christi, Texas (Southwest), Sammamish, Wash. (Northwest) and Chula Vista, Calif. (West).

The international teams are Taoyuan, Chinese Taipei (Asia-Pacific), Perth, Australia (Australia), Ottawa, Ontario (Canada), San Lorenzo, Puerto Rico (Caribbean), Brno, Czech Republic (Europe-Africa), Tokyo (Japan), Aguadulce, Panama (Latin America) and Tijuana, Mexico (Mexico).

Major League Baseball Hall of Famer Gaylord Perry threw out the ceremonial first pitch, and competition began later Thursday.