(skip this header)

Westport News

Sunday, April 20, 2014

westport-news.com Businesses

« Back to Article

Devil's Den to close for deer hunt starting this week

Published 11:01 am, Monday, November 12, 2012
Larger | Smaller
Email This
Font
Page 1 of 1

The Nature Conservancy will hold its annual controlled deer hunt at Devil's Den Preserve during the state-designated shotgun and rifle hunting season from Wednesday, Nov. 14, through Tuesday, Dec. 4.

The controlled hunt, held each fall since 2001 to help reduce deer overpopulation and its negative impacts, will place Wednesday, Nov. 14; Thursday, Nov. 15; Monday, Nov. 19, through Wednesday, Nov. 21; Monday, Nov. 26, through Thursday, Nov. 29; Monday, Dec. 3, and Tuesday, Dec. 4.

The preserve will be closed to visitors on these days, and signs will be posted at all public entrances to the preserve, according to a release. The conservancy requests that residents and their families, guests and tenants refrain from visiting the preserve on these days.

The hunt will only take place in select areas of the preserve's interior, away from the edges of the preserve and any neighboring residences, the release states. The conservancy is working with experienced sportsmen recruited by Devil's Den staff members, and have knowledge of the preserve and local area.

Venison obtained through the hunt will be given to Hunters for the Hungry a statewide nonprofit group that accepts donations of venison for distribution to local charities and food pantries.